Posted by: R Manimaran | March 30, 2009

“RESTORE MY DESKTOP” error in Windows XP System

“RESTORE MY DESKTOP” error in Windows XP System

Sometimes when working in Windows XP we may come with this Problem. A button will be showed in the desktop with a Text “Restore My Desktop”. On Clicking the button you will get the script error message

Error:

file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/My%20Name/Application%20Data/Microsoft/Internet%20Explorer/Desktop.htt

Resolution:

For this we need to do some change in the Registry.

Note: Extra Care should be taken while working with Registry.

Type “regedit” in the RUN dialog box.

Search for the following Key

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components

Change the Keyvalue of the right side of the pane as follows

DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(272) to decimal zero

Close Regedit and logoff the system and log on.

Responses

  1. thank you… great help

  2. Yes, this did the job for me too! I am very grateful. It was the ONLY answer in Google when I copied/pasted the error message. You are a star!

  3. I’m having the exact problem. Because of this I could not connect to the internet. I almost reinstalled my Windows XP. Thank u so much, it’s working.


Leave a Reply

Categories

